Weekly Post

Post Event Evaluation (Student Night).

I felt the student night went amazingly well. My voice recovered enough to pull through with all of the songs (especially Torn) and this time around I felt much more confident and comfortable on stage. I think I even cracked a joke or two! In terms of songs, going in order from least confident to most confident – I’d say Beautiful, Torn then Mercy.

The reason for this is that Beautiful is quite an emotional song and it required some amount of power during the chorus. The ‘power’ part wasn’t the problem, it was more so that I couldn’t feel the emotion in the song – as if I just wasn’t connecting with it.

In terms of comfort, I’d say I felt the same level of ease with Mercy and Torn. The only reason Mercy tops the game is because I felt more in the groove. As its such an upbeat song I feel like this is a style I’m more inclined to sing. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy singing Torn, but it’s not a style of song that I would want to sing very often.

There were no technical issues on the night, although, I did ask Lewis Hall if he could accompany on piano for Mercy but he was unable to learn the chordal pattern. Instead I asked Carol for help (yet again) and she was more than happy to play after she had written down the chords in her own style of writing.

Leave a Reply

